Ovation Awards

Story + Photography by Tony Centonze

Nancye & Dr. Joseph Britton, Jaunita Charles

Don Groves with award recipient Ryan Bowie

APSU's Center of Excellence for the Creative Arts (CECA) recently hosted its annual Ovation Awards at the George and Sharon Mabry Concert Hall, recognizing individuals and groups who are dedicated to building and sustaining arts and culture in Montgomery County.

CECA Director Janice Crews took a moment to talk about the much anticipated afternoon of art and music.

“This is our annual Ovation Awards Event,” Crews said. “Today, we honor individuals and organizations in our community that make a difference through the arts. There is a business award, a community award, an individual artist award, and six young artist awards to be presented. We honor those individuals, but we also have a variety of performances that take place on the stage, and there is an art display in the lobby which brings it all together.”

Several awards were presented throughout the afternoon. Ryan Bowie received this year's Mabry Award for his work with The Roxy Regional Theatre. Mike Ritter and Cumberland Winds were recognized for Music Performance and Musical Outreach.

“We are also recognizing six young artists with awards today,” Crews said. “These are local high school Juniors and Seniors who are showing their passion for the arts. And, throughout the event, we will have performances by 11 different groups, ranging from a community school ballet class to professionals from Roxy Regional Theatre, to a massive brass group, about 35 musicians, who will close out today's show.”

Information about CECA can be found on Facebook at Center of Excellence for the Creative Arts, or online www.apsu.edu/ceca.




Copyright 2021 Sixteen Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.